Recently I noticed some strange behaviour while browsing through the our single-page app. An event handler was being called multiple times, which increased the more that I used the site. Obviously the handler wasn’t being released. You can imagine the event handler as being something as simple as the following...

Quipper is a global company. Our developer teams are located in 3 different cities around the world: London, Tokyo, Manila. When it is 9AM in London, it is 5PM in Manila, and 6PM in Tokyo. In addition, we also service Mexico and Indonesia. All in all, there are at least...

Today, I will introduce a system that we call Shadow Proxy, which is released recently in our development environment. What’s Shadow Proxy? Shadow Proxy makes an HTTP request, which is copied from a request to production, to staging applications. It means that it is possible to apply requests to staging...

Recently I noticed that the present? method was exhibiting weird behaviour on one of our models. Chapter.new.present? => false # wut!? source_location After the initial panic wears off, the sane thing to do in this situation is to find out what present? is actually doing. Fortunately, Ruby 1.9+ allows us...

When navigating sites, users sometimes encounter the popup below when navigating away from a page. This confirmation is important in times when data might be lost when leaving a page. Normally, this is done by: window.onbeforeunload = -> 'Your new changes will be lost.' However, Backbone applications are single-page applications....